Cali Diaries: Days 7 – 12

Friday (Day 7) :
In case you don’t know, I love outlet malls. I love all the different stores all in one area, all with sales and discounted prices all the time. Since I love outlets so much, and my mom likes them too, we left a bit before 11 to go outlet mall shopping at the Citadel outlet mall. It’s not a very good outlet mall, it’s more of just a normal mall not an outlet mall. Don’t waste your time there if you are looking for good outlet sales. The only decent store there for sales was Kate Spade which had 40% off handbags.
DSC_0089 DSC_0091 DSC_0092 DSC_0094 (1) DSC_0095 (1)
At two we left for a late lunch then we went to this Hispanic area of SoCal to a store called Trendy Too to look at grad dresses. We found three that I loved (pictures weren’t really encouraged there), one cream mermaid style with a beaded bodice that reminded me of the 1920’s, one hot pink sequin dress with optional spaghetti straps that reminded me of Jessica Rabbit (I have always loved her dress), and a more simple black dress with gems around the edges of the body and the back which was more classically elegant.
11943350_1002730829747962_689643588_n
(The farthest left dress is the first one I listed)
We finished looking around 4:30 and on our way back to our car, about a block down, and saw a sunglasses stand. I have been stopping at every sunglasses place for over a week now and looking at the sunglasses just to try to find a pair I like. The only pair I had found up till now was a $45+ pair from Quay, so we even drove through Seattle to look for them at places like Urban Outfitters but none sold them in store. But walking past this stand I saw a pair I liked right away and it was only $5!!! 40 dollars less that what I was going to spend. So I was very happy with that. If you’re ever in SoCal I suggest going to the area that has Trendy Too and just walking around looking in stores because there’s some great stuff at great prices!
Oh also My parents both got sick with colds today. At eight we went for a late dinner at Del Taco, which has very good hot sauces and is the closest taco place to our hotel.
DSC_0025
Saturday (Day 8) :
For our last full day in LA, we woke up extra early (5:40) to catch the first shuttle to Disney. It was the first time we didn’t miss our bus. We got the the Disney parks before they even opened & spent the day doing rides we missed & also some of our favourite rides (like Star Tours). While in Disney my sister saw one of the old teachers from our school; this is the second person we have found that someone in our family knows – I guess it really is a small world after all.
DSC_0052   DSC_0066 (1)DSC_0060 (1)DSC_0096 (1)
Sunday (Day 9) :
On Sunday we got to sleep in but since I had gotten so used to waking up early, my sleeping in only lasted till 7:30. By 11 we were on the road leaving Los Angeles, our hotel (and all the wonderful food our hotel provided), and Disneyland behind. It was bittersweet because even though we were leaving this beautiful place, we were going to Palm Springs. Waiting for us in Palm Springs is a bigger hotel, even hotter weather, more free time, and  more possibilities. With only a half hour left of driving but four hours till check in, we decided to stop at an outlet mall called Desert Hills till 2:30. There was a super attractive worker at pacsun who was so friendly and funny. He joking about me having to take photos of him. So that was nice. Like always when I see a forever 21 store, I went into forever 21 with my sister & we tried on some things. My sister grabbed two different sizes of the same dress. The small didn’t fit her but it fit me and the medium fit her so we bought matching dresses. Our private school does twin day every year so we will wear them together then. I was so surprised that my sister picked out such a cute dress because she typically wears more tomboyish clothes. I’ll be posting a lookbook of it soon. After shopping we needed to eat (because shopping is so much work).
DSC_0099 (1) DSC_0100 DSC_0103
We arrived at 3:30 and our resort room was magnificent!!! It’s actually the best! I want to live there for the rest of my life!! First of all we aren’t connected to other rooms, it’s more like a house (we even have our own garage), it stands on its own. There’s a master bedroom with its own washroom, a second bedroom (the room I’m staying in) that connects to a common washroom that all the kids use, a “guest” room with a pull down bed that my sister is using, a living room with a futon, a dining room, and a kitchen. It’s huge. And I love it.
DSC_0004 DSC_0136 DSC_0137 DSC_0139 DSC_0141 DSC_0142 DSC_0143 DSC_0144 DSC_0145 DSC_0146 DSC_0148 DSC_0149 DSC_0150 DSC_0151 DSC_0155 DSC_0157 DSC_0158 DSC_0160 DSC_0161 DSC_0162 DSC_0164 DSC_0165 DSC_0172 DSC_0184 DSC_0187
Monday (Day 10) :
Monday was more of a relaxing day. We slept in, walked around the resort, went swimming at some of the pools (our resort has eight or nine out door pools), played the game of life, and watched a movie called Pay Check. Oh also my sister and I wore our matching dresses from Forever 21.
DSC_0006 (2)DSC_0025DSC_0033DSC_0020DSC_0048
Tuesday (Day 11) :
On Tuesday I woke up at 7 so that we could be out of the door by eight. I’m wearing shorts from Rue21, cream canvas shoes from Airwalk, and a tribal-ish top with cold shoulder sleeves from Ardene. My brother was humming the Star Wars song during the drive to Lego land. The highway we took (the most popular/fastest one) was TERRIBLE! It was so freaky, single laned, sketchy, twisty, and high up. I would suggest taking the long route on normal roads instead of taking the highway. It was nice hearing my brother singing Bad Blood to try to calm himself down. If you need a radio station to listen to in SoCal, I suggest K-Earth 101.1; it has a pretty good variety so you should be able to find some songs you like (unless you want classical, opera, or something like that). It took us double the time we expected to get to Lego land. There were plenty of displays and rides at the park, including a miniature Lego world which was cool, a 4D show, and some roller coasters. There wasn’t much for me to do, but looking at the miniature Lego versions of places was interesting. It was nice to go see but I wouldn’t ever go back. But hey, you have to go there/try it to know that you don’t like it. However, I do wish that I could go back in time & tell my past self to just stay at the resort & not waste my day.   After Lego land we went to McDonald’s to use the wifi, so that we could find a new route to get home because the other one was way to terrible to go on again, g& to buy some icecream & fries. Since the main pool closes at 12 am we went swimming at 11 pm. The pool looked so pretty & we had a blast. At least for the first half hour. Then my sister (14) decided that she was going to start splashing people in the face, breaking our number one swimming rule. That put a bad end to the swimming so I left early and went to bed.
DSC_0080 DSC_0096 DSC_0099 DSC_0103 DSC_0132 DSC_0138 DSC_0162 DSC_0163 DSC_019411992512_1002730949747950_1564251056_n
Wednesday (Day 12) :
I woke up at 7:30 even thought we could sleep today. Sometimes being an early riser is a pain.we went downtown & went shopping. One shop in particular was super cool; it was this candy shop called Rocket Fizz . it had so many different things like their own soda brand, pickle candies, suckers with real bugs in them, old school candies, dark chocolate reices, hershies, and so much more. We probably spent the most time in that store. From there we bought 4 pops ( marshmallow, bubblegum, chocolate, and bacon with maple syrup)that we all tried, and I got a Toxic Waste candy. The first two pops  (marshmallow & bubblegum) were really good, but the other two (chocolate & bacon with maple syrup) were really really bad. They were fun to buy though. After dinner we played a game of clue, then watched he movie Treasure Planet. Morph is as cute as I remembers from when I watched the movie back when I was in daycare.
DSC_0236 DSC_0240 DSC_0243 DSC_0244 DSC_0245 DSC_0246 DSC_0252 11938883_1002730946414617_1576723006_n 11992410_1002730989747946_858234365_nDSC_0264DSC_0271DSC_0272
 Xoxo
Your girl,
ShortGirlSam
