DIY Tie-Dye Dye

I don’t know about you but I love tie-dye. Sometimes, though, I don’t really feel like going out and buying a $30 dollar tie dye kit, especially when I don’t really have that much control over which colors are in the kit… what if I want the pink from one kit and the lime green from the other!? So one day I thought to myself: “There’s got to be another way.” And here it is!

What you need:
1.) Acrylic paints (you can find these at your local dollar store)
2.) What you want to tie dye (I did a super soft shirt from Walmart – it was only $5)
3.) A tube/bottle to squirt the mixture out of . I used old tie dye bottles (from an older kit), but you can probably use anything (bottles, sippy cups, those cake frosting design tube things, baby bottles, etc.)
4.) Water
5.) Optional: fabric softener (This is completely optional! I did not use it, because I don’t know where to buy it and my shirt was already super soft – it did stiffen my shirt up a bit but barely. So if you are tie-dying an already super stiff shirt I would suggest getting fabric softener but why would you but a stiff shirt???)

This craft only cost me $5, but if you don’t have any of this it will only cost you about $10 (unless you are wanting lots and lots of colors, then it will cost a bit more, but not much more).

What you do:
1.) Put some of the paint into the bottle. You don’t need too much I put in maybe the thickness of my iPod 5 laying down (so maybe a centimetre or two). You can always add more paint or more water to make the color bolder or to dilute the color more.
2.) Put water in. I only filled mine up half way since I didn’t put much  color in (I wanted to be able to have the option of adding more color or water if needed; it wasn’t needed) and I still had a lot left over when I was done.
3.) Shake/stir well
4.) Squirt onto whatever it is that you are dying.
5.) Let it sit, soak, and dry
6.) Put it in the dryer so it can heat lock.
7.) Wear it! Woot Woot! You are all done!

Here’s how mine turned out:

I didn’t add a lot of paint into the botter for my paint to water ratio, so you can see on mine how it is more sunset-like than the purple which is much more bold and sharp (the purple that you see here was from the original kit – “real” tie dye dye).

If you made this post a picture on Instagram or Twitter and tag me! I would love to see! My Instagram & Twitter usernames are: @ShortGirlSam

Xoxo
Your girl,
  ShortGirlSam
